STYLE GURU BIO: Emma Biggerstaff

May 27th, 2015 at 2:10am

Greetings, earthlings.

I’m Emma and right now I’m living in Scotland. I am a student at the University of North Carolina but since January I’ve been studying at the Glasgow School of Art, where people are still wearing gloves and battling windstorms daily. I’m not complaining – I love cold weather and layers. To me, versatility is one of the most important characteristics of a piece of clothing and, well, most things in life. Less is more when it forces you to get creative.

Back in the states I study Studio Art and Linguistics. I also sing, play the piano and the ukulele and once I convince myself to splurge on an $8 harmonica, I will play that too.

My family lives in Charlotte, N.C., but I was born in the D.C. suburbs so I can’t call myself a true Carolinian nor do I feel like I’ve ever fit in with the sunshiny world of the south, which seems to favor the petite and the blonde. Give me some rain, a few mountains, a good blanket and a pair of boots that I can wear six days a week. That’s the life.

In these photos I’m wearing my father’s button-down. There are pictures of him wearing it while holding a two-year-old me, a scene that I hope to recreate in reverse once I build up enough upper body strength to hold my own father like a toddler (this will never happen). And my favorite shoes are, of course, my Dr. Martens, which have carried me through swamps and over mountains. And my favorite piece of leather is my mother’s old college messenger bag, worn in to perfection. As a six-foot-six human who appreciates loose-fitting attire, I am more than happy to fill my wardrobe with these delightfully androgynous staples.

Here are a few more things about me: 1. I started drinking tea on the first of January and don’t ever plan on stopping. 2. I have three brothers and they are all hilarious. Except for Noah. 3. I love minor chords because they’re more interesting than major ones. 4. I am very tall and that intimidates people. 5. I cannot go a day with taking a photograph. 6. I would rather have a conversation walking than sitting. 7. I want to live in a city on a mountain 8. And, I like clothes.

With the first half of my summer spent in Europe and the second half back on campus in North Carolina, I have the unique ability to showcase how beautifully diverse (or, perhaps, surprisingly familiar) personal styles can be in different countries. And I hope that this will be the first of many posts on that subject that I write and you read and we both enjoy!